Full text of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s last address to the nation.

My Fellow Citizens,
I address you today for the last time as Prime
Minister of India. Ten years ago, when I was
entrusted with this responsibility, I entered upon it
with diligence as my tool, truth as my beacon and
a prayer that I might always do the right thing.
Today, as I prepare to lay down office, I am
aware that well before the final judgment that we
all await from the Almighty, there is judgment in
the court of public opinion that all elected
officials and governments are required to submit
themselves to.

Fellow citizens, each one of us should respect the
judgement that you have delivered. The just
concluded elections have deepened the
foundations of our democratic polity.
As I have said on many occasions, my life and
tenure in public office are an open book. I have
always tried to do my best in serving this great
nation of ours.
In the last ten years, we as a country have seen
many successes and achievements that we
should be proud of. Today, India is a far stronger
country in every respect than it was a decade
ago. I give credit for these successes to all of
you. However, there is still vast latent
development potential in our country and we must
collectively work hard to realize it.
As I leave office, my abiding memory will be the
love and kindness that I have always received
from you. I owe everything to this country, this
great land of ours where I, an underprivileged
child of Partition, was empowered enough to rise
and occupy high office. It is both a debt that I will
never be able to repay and a decoration that I will
always wear with pride.
Friends, I am confident about the future of India. I
firmly believe that the emergence of India as a
major powerhouse of the evolving global economy
is an idea whose time has come. Blending
tradition with modernity and unity with diversity,
this nation of ours can show the way forward to
the world. Serving this nation has been my
privilege. There is nothing more that I could ask
for.
I wish the incoming government every success as
it embarks on its task and pray for even greater
successes for our nation.
Thank you. Jai Hind.

by manab

Leave a Reply

